Illinois National Corn Husking Champion

Two time National Champion Nancy Miller with two ears in the air and picking a third.

Illinois National Corn Husking team won the National (Leland Klein and Bill Rose
Memorial) Corn Husking Championship title October 19, 1997 at the National Corn
Husking Contest that was held in Monmouth Illinois. Nine states participated in the contest.
Illinois's team accumulated 14 points out of a possible 30 to win the championship title.
The states of Iowa and Missouri tied for second. Illinois's team consisted of  Laurel
Hennenfent, Jenny VanArsdale, Tammy Einfeldt, Nancy Miller, Dyan Peterson, Leota
Kovachevich, Sis Wisebrook, Frank Hennenfent, Paul Miller, Junior Schleich, Billy
Vedder, Bill Reitman, Steve Humes, Matt Windish, Bob St.George, Paul VanArsdale, Ken
St. George and Leman White.

Leman White was a contestant in the 1940's at the Illinois State Contest when it was 80
minutes in length.

Thanks to Bill Vedder for making and donating the Leland Klein and Bill Rose Memorial
Plaque to the  Illinois Corn Husking  Association.

Dyan Peterson who is Warren and Bessie Simons granddaughter, was the first person from
Illinois to win a National title in the revived contest that started in 1975.

Dyan Peterson picking at the 1988 National Contest held in Illinois on the Simons family farm.

Return To Home Page